Rhys b. cartwright-jones & associates                                                                                                                                               Call for an Initial Case Review
More Than a Decade of Experience Hundreds of Cases Handled and Won

Youngstown Domestic Violence Lawyer

Fight for Your Future with Rhys Brendan Cartwright-Jones

Domestic violence charges are taken very seriously in Ohio. In some cases, offenses can be charged as misdemeanors but can still carry mandatory prison sentences. It’s important to understand what you’re up against and how you can fight your charges and protect your future and your reputation.

With Rhys Brendan Cartwright-Jones, Attorney & Counselor at Law on your side, you benefit from more than a decade of experience and the insight of a former prosecutor. Our firm is passionate about helping people like you fight the legal obstacles you face and ensuring that your rights are upheld throughout the process.

To learn more about your case and how our Youngstown domestic violence attorney can help you, call (330) 299-4077.

Definition of Domestic Violence in Ohio

Essentially, if a person knowingly or recklessly causes or attempts to cause physical harm or threatens to cause physical harm to a family or household member, he or she can be charged with domestic violence. This means that even if there was not a physical fight, you can still be charged.

Domestic violence often involves the following:

  • Spouses
  • Children
  • Ex-spouses
  • Roommates
  • Significant others
  • Other household members

If you have lived with someone in the past five years, charges of domestic violence can be brought even if you are not currently living with them.

What are the penalties for domestic violence in Ohio?

If you are charged with domestic violence, you may face the following penalties:

  • First degree misdemeanor: A $1,000 fine and/or up to six months in jail
  • Second degree misdemeanor: A $750 fine and/or up to 90 days in jail
  • Third degree misdemeanor: A $500 fine and/or up to 60 days in jail
  • Fifth degree felony: A $2,500 fine and six to twelve months imprisonment
  • Fourth degree felony: A $5,000 fine and six to eighteen months imprisonment
  • Third degree felony: A $10,000 fine and nine months to three years in prison

What If the Alleged Victim Made Up the Charges or Changed His or Her Mind?

Regardless of who accused you and regardless of whether that individual changes their mind, the charges will still be continued. The alleged victim cannot decide to stop those charges.

Defending Domestic Violence Cases

Whatever your circumstances, you can trust that our experienced Youngstown domestic violence lawyer can fight on your behalf. We offer free consultations to help you better understand your situation and provide you with straightforward advice about what comes next. We can also assist in criminal immigration defense if your immigration status is in jeopardy after a criminal accusation.

Facing charges for domestic violence? Get in touch with us today to discuss your case.

Client Success Stories

Just a few of Our Recent Wins
  • “Aggressive and Conscientious Attorney”

    B.P.

  • “Nobody else I know was able to plea down their DUI cases.”

    Dan

  • “Rhys get things done in a timely and correct manner.”

    Former Client

  • “Would not hesitate to use the services of Atty. Rhys Cartwight-Jones again.”

    Former Client

  • “Rhys may be the best defense attorney in the Youngstown.”

    Former Client

  • “Excellent service and advice!”

    David

  • “I am forever thankful.”

    Robert

  • “I won't go to anyone else for anything in the future!”

    Carol-Ann

  • “Exceptional Lawyer!”

    Paul